President's Award Showcases Excellence

Return to Issue of Aug. 9, 2010 


Kent State University President Lester A. Lefton congratulates Thomas Dent, Jr., who won a 2009 award.
Nominations for the second President’s Excellence Award will be accepted beginning Aug. 9 through Sept. 10. Kent State University President Lester A. Lefton established the award program in 2009 as a way to reward staff members who demonstrate their daily commitment to carrying out the university’s Excellence Agenda .

The President’s Excellence Award recognizes staff members who have demonstrated exceptional performance in advancing one of the goals of the university’s Excellence Agenda during the previous fiscal year (July 1, 2009 through June 30, 2010). More than 200 nominations were submitted last fall for the debut of the recognition program; from that 10 recipients were selected and each received a check for $1,000 after taxes.

“Last year’s nominations brought to light many examples of excellence taking place across our campuses,” says Lefton. “’ I look forward to reviewing nominations detaining even more success stories that came about through the diligence of our staff. The nominations reveal much of what Kent State has accomplished during this ‘Year of Yes.”

Full-time classified and unclassified employees at all campuses who have been employed by the university for a minimum of one year and are in good standing with the university are eligible to be nominated. Past recipients are not eligible to be nominated for a minimum of two years following their award, and faculty are not eligible.

A nominee must demonstrate exceptional performance in advancing one of the following goals of the university’s Excellence Agenda. This includes actions, initiatives or projects related to:

  • Student success
  • Diversity and inclusion
  • Quality customer service
  • Effectiveness and efficiency
  • Collaboration
  • Serving as an ambassador for the university
  • Sustainability

Nominations may come from peers, supervisors or other divisional leaders, faculty or students. The nomination period runs through Sept. 10. Nominations will be reviewed, and a final list will be submitted to the Office of the President. The final decision resides with the president; award recipients will be announced in December.

The nomination form, along with detailed information on the award criteria and the nomination process, is available on the Office of the President’s website . The nomination forms may be printed, completed and sent in, or completed electronically. For more information, contact Carla Wyckoff , HR communications and events manager, at 330-672-5857 or .

By Carla Wyckoff

Current Issue | Archives | Search | Text Only | Contact Us | Login to FlashLine

University Communications and Marketing